Academic Staff


Prof Colin Fitzpatrick

Associate Professor, Head of Department, Electronic Engineering BEng Electronics (UL); PhD (UL)

Room: D2-032
Course Director: LM118 – ME/BE Electronic & Computer Engineering

Prof Michael Connelly

Associate Professor, Electronic Engineering BE (UCD); PhD (NUI), IEEE (Senior Member)

Dr Tom Conway

Lecturer, Electronic Engineering BEng (UL); PhD (UL)

Dr Richard Conway

Lecturer, Computer Engineering BEng (UL); MEng (UL); PhD (UL)

Dr Reiner Dojen

Lecturer, Computer Engineering Dipl Ing (FH) in Computer Engineering (Fachhochschule Osnabrück, Germany); MEng in Computer Systems (UL); PhD (UL)

Course Director: LM634 – Master Of Engineering In Information And Network Security 
Room: D2-027

Dr Ciarán Eising

Lecturer, BEng Electronic & Computer Engineering (NUI Galway), PhD (NUI Galway)

Dr Colin Flanagan

Senior Lecturer, Computer Engineering BEng (UL); MEng (UL); PhD (UL)

Dr Ian Grout

Lecturer, Electronic Engineering BEng Hons (Lancaster); PhD (Lancaster)

Prof Martin Hayes

Associate Professor, Electronic Engineering BEng, MEng (UL); PhD (DCU); MIEEE

(Professor in Digital Technologies – Graduate Professional Studies, UL)

Prof Elfed Lewis

Associate Professor, Electronic Engineering BEng; PhD (Liverpool); MIEE; MInstMC; CEng.

Dr Kevin Murphy

Lecturer, Communications/Computer Engineering BEng (UL); MEng (UL); PhD (UL)

Course Director: LM331 – Graduate Diploma/Master Of Engineering In Computer Engineering

Dr Ciaran Macnamee

Lecturer, Computer Engineering BE (UCD); Grad Dip Eng (NIHEL); MEng (UL); MIEEE PhD (UL)

Prof Hussain Mahdi

Associate Professor, Electronic & Computer Engineering BSc (Basrah); PhD (Wales); CEng; MIEE; Accredited Teacher of HE (SEDA, UK)

Dr Sean Mcgrath

Senior Lecturer, Telecommunications BEng (UL); MSc (Edinburgh); PhD (UL)

Dr Thomas Newe

Senior Lecturer, Computer Engineering NCEA Certificate in Electronics (Athlone RTC); NCEA Diploma in Electronic Engineering (UL); BEng (UL); MEng (UL); PhD (UL)

Course Director: LM121 – BSc Mobile Communications & Security 
Room: E2-010

Prof John Nelson

Associate Professor, Computer Engineering BEng (UL); PhD (UL)

Dr Eoin O’Connell

Lecturer, Computer Engineering BEng Hons, PhD (UL), MBA (UL)

Dr Karl Rinne

Senior Lecturer Dipl Ing (FH Regensburg/Germany); PhD (UL)

Prof Dan Toal

Professor, Electronic Engineering Hon Dip Elec Eng (DIT Kevin Street); BSc (TCD); MSc (Cranfield Institute of Technology, UK); PhD (UL)

Dr Pepijn Van De Ven

Senior Lecturer, MSc Electronic Engineering (Eindhoven University of Technology); PhD (UL)

Room: D2-043
Course Director: LM719 – Master Of  Science Artificial Intelligence

Dr Jacqueline Walker

Lecturer, Electronic Engineering BA (UWA); BE (UWA); PhD (Curtin)